BUDDY

06-08-13

  • Adopted: 06-08-13
  • Gender: Male
  • Age: 5 yrs
  • Size: 40 ilbs
  • Color: Orange
  • Cats: Yes
  • Dogs: Yes
  • Kids: Unknown
  • Traits: good manners, likes long walks and likes to play

Hi my name is Buddy.  I am an orange and white boy, and I’m five years old and about 40 pounds.  I used to be a family dog before I found my way to ACES.  I traveled across a few states before I found my foster mom, and her four dogs and two cats.  I lived with young children in my previous home, but there are no children in my foster home. When I went to the vets, I found out I had something called Lyme disease, but I’m doing well now. 

I haven’t been around cats before, so I am a bit curious about them.  I want to play, but they let me know that’s not going to happen.  I would be okay with cats as long as they tell me to leave them alone.

I get along with my two brothers and sisters.  Don’t let them know I told you, but they are kind of lazy.  I have to try hard to get them to play with me.  I sometimes steal the ball from my younger sister and she chases me to get it back.  I do love teasing her and getting her to chase me.  When they don’t want to play, I’m content to run around the field by myself.  I love the doggy door but my foster mom thinks I would do best with a secure physical fence. 

I travel well in the car and love walks though I tend to pull a bit, but if you remind me to ‘walk with me’ I slow down.  I think I have pretty good manners – I don’t get into the trash,  I don’t make a mess in the house, and I sit and wait for my food (but if it takes too long I will speak up).

I used to be an early riser, getting up at 6 am, but here everyone likes to sleep in.  So, I let them sleep until 8 am before I give a gentle woof to let them know ‘times a wasting’ and it is time to get up.  I have my own bed on the floor because there’s no room on the bed.  If you were to let me up to sleep on the bed, I promise not to take up the whole bed and I’d sleep quietly.

My foster mom tells me that I smile a lot and I make her laugh when I do the “happy dance” and spin in circles at meal time and when she comes home.  I am always happy to see her.  I love it when she and I “talk” back and forth.  Because I like to play, a forever family who has an active lifestyle would be great for me.  I like long walks, but I also like quiet time and spending time with my people.  And now that I’ve learned to sleep in, I promise not to wake you up too early.

BUDDY'S FRIENDS

Steve, Teri & Miss Sophia Sauer hope that Buddy will be delighting his forever family with his "happy dance" very soon!

BUDDY'S SUCCESS STORY (12/13)

Hello everyone,

Buddy (adopted in June 2013) is much loved in our home.  Thank you for everything that you do to connect families with setters.  He is so much a part of our household it is hard to remember life without Buddy!