SONYA

09-25-09

  • Adopted: 09-25-09
  • Gender: Female
  • Age: 1yr
  • Size: 30 lbs
  • Color: Orange
  • Cats: Unknown
  • Dogs: Yes
  • Traits:

Hi! My name is Sonya. I'm a lot of setter packed in a small package. When I first came into ACES, I was all white with a little orange on my ears. I was small enough to run through my fur sister's legs. I've grown a little and orange spots are popping out everywhere. My foster parents tell me I have this really cute chocolate brown nose that looks like it was painted on with brown shoe polish. And unless you looked, you wouldn't know that I have black spots on my pads.

I'm full of mischief and my energy level is constant. My fur sister likes to over exert herself then rest. Not me, I tone it down, so I never tire out. Inside the house I'm very playful. I love all my toys. Sometimes I like to get extra attention by stealing something that belongs to my foster parents, but I'm careful with it. One of my very favorite things to steal is a paper towel. I don't care if it's in your hand or on the floor. I grab it, run off with it, and rip it into shreds. It's thrilling. Outside, I watch for birds and squirrels. When I get bored with that, sometimes I trim bushes, pull weeds, and un-pot plants. My foster mom says with a little education, I could become a gardener; the only problem is all plants look like weeds to me.

My foster family nicknamed me "Toadie" because I'm my fur sister's partner in crime. She encourages me to participate in things. She's my best friend. I'm not really sure about humans yet. I think they are ok. I've learned to trust my foster parents most of the time. Sometimes loud noises and new things worry me. I'm very cautious, but I'm also very curious. Sometimes I get so frustrated with myself for being cautious, I'll just start barking. I really want to experience new things and meet new people.

I love water and will stick my whole nose in the water bowl when I drink. I've tried swimming in it, but I just splash all the water out of the bowel. I'm very smart. I know how to sit, lie down, and I'm learning to walk on a loose leash. I'm working on house training, but sometimes I just don't make it to the door in time. I really don't like being alone. I'm perfectly happy as long as somebody is with me.

I'm petite, cute, and sweet. I'm looking for a forever home with a family who can be patient with me as I continue to gain confidence. I have a lot of love to give and I promise I will make you laugh. Are you that family?