JAKE

11-13-09

  • Adopted: 11-13-09
  • Gender: Male
  • Age: 4-6 yrs
  • Size: 54 lbs
  • Color: Orange
  • Cats: Yes
  • Dogs: Yes
  • Kids: Unknown
  • Traits: Good boy

Meet 'Pirate' Jake!

Ahoy...mates! I am a good size dog pirate of about 4-6 years old. You'll love my eye patch! I currently weigh about 54 lbs but will probably fill out closer to 57-60 lbs. I love my dog food booty! I will even do a little pirate happy dance when I see my bowl full of pirate treasures or just for treats. I also love to be touched and petted as often as possible and if you stop petting me I will give you a gentle nudge just to remind you. My foster parents refer to me as a laid back Jimmy Buffet kind of pirate...that is as long as I get my pets.

Even though I am a pirate, I like to do regular things too such as lying on the front porch and watching the world go by. I also like walks and snuggling with my fellow mates watching television. I claim the loveseat early so I can sit next to my foster parents. If you want to get my attention, then any squeaky toy will do. My other favorite is a rawhide bone-I do love to chew!

My story...I was found abandoned without my pirate ship. So I went awhile without heartworm preventative so I have had some trouble with heartworms. But thanks to ACES, I have undergone heartworm treatment and I am feeling a lot better. It's been a long couple of weeks but hopefully there won't be any more issues with those blasted worms.

I get along well with other mates (dogs,) I am living with two very fine young ladies at the moment in my foster home. We all get along great as long as they don't steal my treasure. I also get along with cats as long as they don't run. Kids over the age of 5 are okay too as long as they pet me continuously and don't move too fast because then I might get a little shy. I may be a big guy, but I am a gentle giant at heart.

I am house trained and walk well on leash. I love walks and being outside. I don't even think about jumping over any fences-it's too much work. I understand basic commands such as sit and come. I spend my nights in my own cabin (crate) because of the heartworm treatment to make sure I don't get too excited, but I think I'll be fine without a crate in my new home. I think I would like to be in a home with or without other dogs as long as my parents give me lots and lots of attention just as I will give to them.

So what do you say...do you want to hit the high seas with me for some adventure? I can be your BPF (Best Pirate Friend) for life!

JAKE'S FRIENDS

Pam Miller is hoping that 'Pirate' Jake will find a sea-loving forever family soon!