GULLIVER

09-12-09

  • Adopted: 09-12-09
  • Gender: Male
  • Age: 5 yrs
  • Size: 65 lbs
  • Color: Blue
  • Cats: Yes
  • Dogs: Yes
  • Kids: Yes
  • Traits:

Very Special Dog Seeking Very Special Home

5 yr old, single, tri-colored, 65 lb, courageous, handsome bench setter seeks devoted life-long companion(s) to share long-walks, quiet dinners and lots of petting and bonding. My name is Gulliver, those who know me well sometimes call me Bubba. I know you are wondering why a handsome guy like me has to advertise for companionship. Well, it's a long-story but here goes....

The first recollection I have of my past is wandering around the country side not really knowing where I was or where I was going. I was a little disoriented and accidentally ran out in front of a car. Well, the car didn't stop to help but I managed to get off the road though I had a pretty bad injury. I had a very strong will to live so I worked through the pain of a broken hip without medical attention. However, my left back hip and leg were rendered useless. But, I didn't let that dampen my spirits. I still had three other good legs and I learned to get around on them just fine.

One day when I was hanging out at the local post office, a nice lady picked me up and contacted ACES. I was taken on a couple of car rides and ended up with my new foster family. When my foster Mom saw me for the first time, she was very sad and concerned about my state of health. She took me to the Vet's office the very next day for a checkup and X-rays. I was in very good health except for my hip and leg. Several Orthopedic Surgeons recommended a total hip replacement. Well, low and behold, ACES got me a new hip!!! It was a miracle!!! It wasn't easy at first. I had many weeks of being very confined and my activities were very limited. But it was all worth it because now I can use my new hip and I'm using my back leg as well.

I had a 9 week follow-up with Dr. B (surgeon) and he said I was getting along just great. He also said that it can take up to 6 months to see all the benefits and improvement from hip replacement surgery. Now, I have to be honest and tell you that I probably won't win any AKA awards for best confirmation at this point but I am working very hard to strengthen my back left leg so it won't turn out as much. You might also think I have a sad face but behind those sad eyes is a happy go lucky kind-of guy that just wants to love and be loved. I am very friendly and love everyone. During my convalescence, I went on hundreds of walks and I got to know all the neighbors and their children. They all were rooting me on to get better. I received lots of pets and hugs every single day.

So the time has come for me to find a forever family. I will just give a few more facts about myself.

• I love to go on walks. My foster Mom uses a "gentle leader" leash for me and I walk very nicely on it. I'm not very birdy but I love to smell around. If you are looking for someone to run miles and miles with you, I'm definitely not the right dog for the job ... my new hip does come with some limitation.
• I use the pet door to go in and out to play and do my business. I have a fenced yard (5 ft. privacy fence) that I don't challenge. However, my foster Mom thinks I'm a little hard headed so I wouldn't do well with an invisible fence.
• I do not chew in the house. I'm way more mature than that!!
• I'm crate trained though now that I'm better I shouldn't really need one (I did spend a lot of time in one for the last 10 weeks - Dr's orders!!).
• I eat very nicely (twice a day), but I do remember what it's like to be out on the streets and hungry so I would probably overeat if I was allowed too.
• I've had all my shots and take heartworm medicine every month and get treated for fleas every month.
• I love to lay my head on your shoulder and be petted.
• I love to curl up on the couch and watch TV.
• I like most other dogs (I have two foster sisters) but I don't like dogs in my face or dogs jumping on me so I might be better suited for a home that only has older, calmer dogs or I really wouldn't mind being an only child.
• I am very curious about cats. My foster Mom has one that comes in the garage and I am very kind to it but the cat doesn't like dogs much.
• My foster Mom is just now starting to teach me commands like "Sit." It was very hard for me to sit when I first came to ACES and then I had surgery so we are now starting to work on these commands. I do know "lay down" and I certainly understand "No."

Well that's the end of my story. I really look forward to meeting my forever companion(s)!!

Very truly yours,

Gulliver ("Bubba")

GULLIVER'S FRIENDS

Steve, Teri, and Sydney Sauer are hoping that Gulliver's travels will soon take him further than the back yard.