LARRY

02-03-08

  • Adopted: 02-03-08
  • Gender: Male
  • Age: 2-4 yrs
  • Size: 50 lbs
  • Color: Blue
  • Cats: Yes
  • Dogs: Yes
  • Kids: Yes
  • Traits: Kids over 5 yrs

Hi! My name is LARRY. I am a Blue Belton English Setter who is somewhere between the ages of 2 and 4 years. I was found as a stray so no one knows my true age…and I’m not telling! I am kind of shy and I like the security of my crate. I have made progress since I came to my foster home and am now comfortable eating outside of my crate. Evening is my favorite time of day because my foster mom and dad are in the family room and I am there too! When they pet me, I try to get in their laps. I like laps even though I weigh about 50 lbs. Mom lets me sit in her lap. I am so very gentle.

I get along very well with other dogs in my foster home. I live with four Chihuahuas and a Greyhound. I also live with a cat that likes to head bump me. He never does that with any of the other dogs in the house. This makes me feel very special.

I also like stuffed animals. I have a very big stuffed dog in my crate that I lay my head on. I look so cute when I do that. My greyhound friend PJ likes stuffed animals too. Sometimes I take one of her toys and put it in my crate. Then PJ goes in my crate and takes it back. Mom and Dad think this is very funny.

I’m very good in the house. I have had only one accident since I’ve been in my foster home. I think it’s because Dad was working and not paying attention to me. He works from home, so I am not alone very often. But, if I do have to stay home alone, I do very well. I stay in my crate, and I am very quiet, waiting for my family to come home.

I was pretty scared and shy when I came to my foster home. Mom and Dad have helped me grow more confident, little by little. Each day is a new adventure for me, but I’m learning that life can be good. I can still be nervous and unsure of new things and people, but that’s why I have a crate so I can have a safe spot. Mom and Dad say they can see the strides I have made since coming to live with them. My foster family loves me and I love them, but I would really like a family to call my own. I’m a gentle and quiet guy and would really like to find a family that is just like me. A family that is calm and patient with me while I settle in and get used to them is just what I need. Are you what I need?